Love’s Suicide by Jennifer Foor : Book Review

20632153Storyline Rating : 3/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

My heart belonged to Branch and Brooks Valentine since we were children, when we were all too naïve to know what that even meant. We didn’t understand that when we became adults, love would change us. I had to make a choice and when I did, it ripped our bond apart. Brooks left town, and he took half of my heart with him. It was difficult, but I coped and planned my future with Branch. I thought I’d made the right decision. I loved him and I always had.

Brooks showed up to be our best man the night before our nuptials. After drinks and too much reminiscing, I ended up in bed with the wrong brother. To avoid the humiliation and the fact that I’d ruined all of our lives, I left Branch and the only family I’d ever known.

That’s where my story should have ended.

Two years, one beautiful little girl and an abusive marriage later, I was standing there staring at the man that would always hold my heart.

The only question was…

Would I give it to him

I’m Katy Michaels and this is my story.


My Point of View:

I really want to gave this book a 4 star. The first few chapters showed some potential of being a really good story too (*sigh*), but it all started to go downhill when Katy ran away from Brooks.

The story started out fine, really. It’s like any other typical childhood friends turn lovers kind of story. Brooks being Katy’s first kiss (*and vice versa*) to Brooks supporting Katy when her parents died….etc. But then when the time for Katy to finally choose one of the brothers, she chose Branch just because Brooks didn’t ask her or tell her he loved her. I was confused initially, as to what changed Brooks, even I know Katy is meant to be with Brooks. It was explained later in the story, the excuse…was kinda unsatisfactory for me. Apparently, Brooks step aside for his brother because his brother told him Katy does not love him, when deep down in Brooks heart he knew Katy did love him. In my opinion, if Brooks love Katy so much, he should have fought for her and her him.

Skipping through all the rest to the part where she ran away from Brooks and her “family”. That was when I started to hate Katy. She made so many stupid mistakes that she could never take back. First mistake, running away and not facing what she did. Second, found out she’s pregnant and STILL did not think that she should contact Brooks. Further mistakes, met Bobby (*future abusive husband*) married him, reunited with Brooks, had sex with Brooks without getting a divorce first etc….. It’s like one mistake lead to another. She’s just not the type of heroine I would love to read in a story.

Don’t get me started on Branch. He is just….an asshole. If he is a real person I would slap/punch him and knee him in the balls so hard that he wish he’s dead. How could he separate Katy and Brooks just because he is jealous of Brooks being the special one for Katy? He never even act like a boyfriend, say mean things, LIED about SOOOO many things. And he still act like he is the one being wronged when Katy confronted him. The nerves……

Finally, when I thought everything is gonna end happily ever after. Brooks’ mom dropped another bomb. I’m like…..WTF, haven’t they gone through enough. “What’s next?” was what I thought. I really wish that was not part of the story because to me it felt a little unnecessary. Probably because I never like cheaters. Danica had to go ahead and add the fact that she really do love Walt even though she got into an affair. I’m like…WHY? WTF? I almost gave up the book then, but I just opt to skip to the epilogue and just read the happy ending. I actually thanked god when it finally ended. 

Favorite Quote :

None from this book.

Leave a Reply

