The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley : Book Review

15825486Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Amber Walker and her older brother, Jake, have an abusive father. One night her brother’s best friend, Liam, sees her crying and climbs through her bedroom window to comfort her. That one action sparks a love/hate relationship that spans over the next eight years. Liam is now a confident, flirty player who has never had a girlfriend before. Amber is still emotionally scarred from the abuse she suffered at the hands of her father. Together they make an unlikely pair. Their relationship has always been a rocky one, but what happens when Amber starts to view her brother’s best friend a little differently? And how will her brother, who has always been a little overprotective, react when he finds out that the pair are growing closer?


My Point of View :

“Wow…!” was my very first thought when I was done with this book.I really wasn’t expecting a 5 star quality story because I’ve read a LOT of negative reviews about this book, mainly about how ridiculous the story sounds (with the 4000 dollar “pot” thing – a bet on which girl manage to bed Liam first) and how Liam is too perfect…etc. I can’t say I don’t agree with those reviews but I love how lovey dovey the story is…..(*sigh*). I’m a sucker when it comes to those sweet and romantic stories, no matter how ridiculous the story sounds. So yeah…I guess the book deserves a 5 star rating.

This story is about Amber, who was physically and sexually abused by her father since she was five. Amber was not the only victim though, Jake, her brother was also abused constantly (physically only). Until one day, Jake and Liam (Jake’s best friend and their neighbor) caught Jake’s and Amber’s dad trying to rape Amber. Of course, Amber from then on is scarred and always have nightmares. That’s when Liam, whose room’s window faces directly Amber’s room, sneaks into her room and hug her and console her. Eventually the “sleeping-together-at-night” became a routine. Okay, technically Liam started to sneak into Amber’s room way before her dad started to abuse her sexually. Liam sneaked into Amber’s room when he saw her crying from his room, she was eight then. Amber is sixteen by the time her dad tried to rape her.

Majority of story is actually from Amber’s POV, which then shifts to Liam’s POV for a few chapters. I think its a nice touch to the story since I get to know what Liam is actually thinking. This make Liam sound a lot more uh….unreal. What I mean is – I know that guys such as Liam definitely does NOT exist. He is TOO perfect but hey…there’s nothing wrong imagining that guys like Liam exists (*laughs*). So I definitely love this Liam character. Well…..I love Jake too. His protectiveness of Amber made me wish I have an older brother like him.

I hope everyone won’t mind how perfect the story is, since books is the only “place” where imagination should not be limited.

Favorite Quote :

None from this book.

 

5 thoughts on “The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley : Book Review

Leave a Reply

