Slammed by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

13372690Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 1 in Slammed

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.


My Point of View :

How do you review a stunning book such as this one without giving out anything?? All the poems in this book is just so wonderful, you can actually understand them and feel/imagine yourself as the poet while reading the poems.

The story begins with Layken moving to Michigan with her mother and brother after her father died from a heart attack. There she met her neighbor from across the street, Will. I think they kinda fell in love the second they met each other or maybe on their first “date”. When Layken started school, she found out that Will is a teacher! Will then break off with (not that anything really started yet) her.

I really hated Will at first – for breaking off with Layken but sending her mixed messages like kissing her after breaking off with her, and decided that Layken should not change her third-period class when he was the one that ask her to in the first place. But then love make someone do something that they can’t control, right? After I’ve read the ending, I guess I actually liked Will because what Will does for Layken is in the name of love. He understands what she’s going through and trying to help her by advising her and all.

Favorite Quote :

It’s not exactly a quote. It’s actually a poem – my favorite poem from the book.

I got schooled this year.
By everyone.
By my little brother…
by The Avett Brothers…
by my mother, my best friend, my teacher, my father,
and
by
a
boy.
a boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with…

I got so schooled this year.
By a nine-year-old.
He taught me that it’s okay to live life
a little backwards.
And how to laugh
At what you would think
is un-laughable.

I got schooled this year
By a Band!
They taught me how to find that feeling of feeling again.
They taught me how to decide what to be
And go be it.

I got schooled this year.
By a cancer patient.
She taught me so much. She’s still teaching me so much.
She taught me to question.
To never regret.
She taught me to push my boundaries,
Because that’s what they’re there for.
She told me to find a balance between head and heart
And then
she taught me how…

I got schooled this year
By a Foster Kid
She taught me to respect the hand that I was dealt.
And to be grateful I was even dealt a hand.
She taught me that family
Doesn’t have to be blood.
Sometimes your family
are your friends.

I got schooled this year
By my teacher
He taught me
That the points are not the point,
The point is poetry…

I got schooled this year
By my father.
He taught me that hero’s aren’t always invincible
And that the magic
is within me..

I got schooled this year
by
a
Boy.
a boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with.
And he taught me the most important thing of all…
To put the emphasis
On life.

2 thoughts on “Slammed by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

Leave a Reply

