Cinder by Marissa Meyer : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 1 of The Lunar Chronicles

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


My Point of View :

I was adamant not to let anything to charm me into reading this book because I was so sure I’m going to hate it since its sci-fi and all, but I saw some of my friends from Goodreads described the book as Cinderella’s tale with a twist and unique (them giving the book 4-5 star won me over too), I knew then that I couldn’t resist anymore – I’m a sucker when it comes to fairy tales especially those with a unique twist.

Cinder is a book about a cyborg, Cinder – who lost all her memories from an accident when she was young that she can’t remember any details, working as a mechanic (the best one in New Beijing). All of the money that she earned from when she worked goes to her stepmother, Adri. She have two stepsisters, Pearl and Peony. In this futuristic world, there’s a plague called letumosis. The royal “scientist” is working hard on the cure for this deadly disease but he needed volunteer and Cinder was offered as a volunteer by her stepmother. That was when all Cinder’s secrets and pasts revealed to her.

Half way through the book, I already had a feeling that Cinder is actually the missing or the assumed dead, Princess Selene. It was an easy guess since the heroine always have a special identity. I can’t wait to have the next book. I really want to know how Prince Kaito will react when he finds out that Cinder is actually Princess Selene, the person he was looking for.

Cinder is definitely an amazing classic Cinderella story with a futuristic and unique twist. I’ve never read anything like it before and I actually liked it!

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

 

3 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer : Book Review

Leave a Reply

