Sing Me to Sleep by Angela Morrison : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 4/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

THE TRANSFORMATION

Beth has always been “The Beast”,that’s what everyone at school calls her because of her awkward height, facial scars, and thick glasses. Beth’s only friend is geeky, golden-haired Scott. That is, until she’s selected to be her choir’s soprano soloist, and receives the makeover that will change her life forever.

THE LOVE AFFAIR

When Beth’s choir travels to Switzerland, she meets Derek: pale, brooding, totally dreamy. Derek’s untethered passion,for music, and for Beth, leaves her breathless. Because in Derek’s eyes? She’s not The Beast, she’s The Beauty.

THE IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE

When Beth comes home, Scott, her best friend in the world, makes a confession that leaves her completely torn. Should she stand by sweet, steady Scott or follow the dangerous, intense new feelings she has for Derek?

THE HEARTBREAK

The closer Beth gets to Derek, the further away he seems. Then Beth discovers that Derek’s been hiding a dark secret from her that could shatter everything.


My Point of View :

It’s hard to say which part of the story I hate that made me rate it 4 star instead of 5.

I love how the story is about a girl, Beth, who was ugly until her makeover, have some genetic problems, then fell in love with a boy, Derek. Derek’s health is deteriorating from cystic fibrosis by the way. Other than that, I love the way Beth loves Derek and not leave him when he is in need. The last thing I love about the story is that the ending is what I expected and yet it made me cry a LOT. I was expecting Derek to die but I still can’t stop myself from crying.

There are parts that I think that I hate….ok….maybe not hate, just that it doesn’t make my heart race with excitement or anticipation while waiting and wondering what’s going to happen next. The one question that I am curious about is that – will Derek actually love Beth if he ever saw how she looked back when she was ugly? I mean I know he said he fell in love with her voice first but that doesn’t mean he’ll still love her after he saw her…..right?

Well, I guess I love the chemistry between Beth and Derek, plus the tear-jerking ending enough to give the book 4 stars. It’s a book recommended to those who love tear-jerking stories~

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

 

Leave a Reply

