Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 3 in Throne of Glass

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?


My Point of View :

Where do I begin…?
Oh yeah….HOLY SHIT! What the hell did I just read? There are so many new characters introduced in this book. Let me list down the important ones :

Aelin – She’s not a new character. That’s Celaena’s real name. It’s used a lot in this book since she’s back to Fae land. I’ll be using this name when she is or was fae.
Queen Maeve – The fae queen of Wendlyn. She’s evil, very evil. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I read the part where Celaena put Queen Maeve’s sordid past together. The things that she did to get power.
Aedion – A fae. King Adarlan’s general. Aelin’s cousin. Loves Aelin. Love her still, even though he has yet to lay his eyes on her.
Rowan – A fae. Celaena’s new instructor. Rude and cold initially but seems nice as the story progresses. As the story ends, I’m still wondering if he is Celaena’s new love interest or not.
Sorscha – A healer. Dorian’s new love interest.
Manon – A witch from Ironteeth clan. Her role has yet to be revealed in this book yet.

Not only is there new characters, the story is told from multiple POV. It is a little bit confusing initially but after I get over it, I find it irritating – in a good way of course, I just can’t wait to read Celaena’s POV is all. Manon’s POV is the only one I found weird, it’s not really related to the story at all. She must be important since her POV is shown. So I’m guessing she will be a very important character in the next three books.

There’s not much to say about Celaena since she is mostly searching for herself as a fae and also her control over fire, in this book. She was mentioned that she’s still in love with Chaol countless times in this book. So I’ll say that she still loves Chaol. I’m just wondering what she’ll do when Aedion finally enters the picture. Or..Rowan too.

I guess Dorian is finally out of the love triangle. I’m a bit disappointed because I thought he was Chaol’s rival. I can’t say I’m entirely happy for him though, he found his love but she was killed in the end AND he is chained to his father to do his bidding. OH NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DORIAN!!!!!!! I need the next book!!!!

Favorite Quote : Sadly, none from this book.

Leave a Reply

