Hopeless by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 1 in Hopeless

Brief Summary from Goodread :

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.


My Point of View :

THIS BOOK IS JUST AMAZING! It has been a long time since I have read a book that made me smile, laugh and teary, all at the same time. There is nothing about the story that I hate, nothing at all. Not once did I try to spot any flaw in the story while I was reading (which is something I have been doing for some time now, since the books I have been reading aren’t interesting). In fact, I think I love this book more than I did with the Slammed series (even though there’s a third book for that series). While I’m reading Hopeless, it’s like I’m actually Sky, as if I’m experiencing what she experienced (even though I never went through what she did in reality).

There are so many things I love about this book! I love the occasional flashbacks that Sky is having, the way she is getting her past memories. I love the friends Sky have. Six and Breckin is definitely one of the hardest kind of friend you’ll be able to find in reality (*sigh*). The part I probably love the most would be the chemistry/relationship between Sky and Holder. When I realized that Holder is Sky’s (or Hope’s) childhood friend I was like “Yeah!”, cause I love childhood friends-turned-couples kind of story, but then that is also when Sky’s memories came rushing back to her. The moment that I realized Sky’s father raped her when she was a child, I was shocked! How could a father do something like that to a child of that age! As I read on….I got to know that Sky’s father raped Lesslie and his own sister, Karen. I was like “YOU…….! RAPIST!”. I’m glad that Sky’s father committed suicide in the end, good riddance (even though I would have him thrown in jail and suffer first before he dies). After Holder learns the whole truth, he still loves Sky! I guess this is what you call true love!

This is definitely MUST-READ, especially if you really love hot-really hot kissing scenes and the Slammed series!

Favorite Quote :

“The moment my lips touch yours, it will be your first kiss. Because if you’ve never felt anything when someone’s kissed you, then no one’s ever really kissed you. Not the way I plan on kissing you.”

“Whatever connection we thought we had before this…it doesn’t compare to this moment. No matter what happens between us in life, this moment has just merged pieces of our souls together. Well always have that, and in a way it’s comforting to know.”

Leave a Reply

