Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 4.5/5 stars

Series : Book 2 in Hopeless

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.


My Point of View :

It’s like reading Hopeless all over again except this time I’m reading it from Holder’s POV. I finally understand the reason behind Holder’s mood swings in the beginning of Hopeless – at least more than what I understood in Hopeless. My favorite part of the story would be the last few chapters in this book. One of this final few chapters, Holder finally read Les’s final letter/suicide letter, where it explain that their mother and her actually found out Hope survived a long time ago. Can you believe that?! Also, I really love how everything ended, both Holder and Hope are going to college together! (*sigh dreamily*) I really love good endings!

The one thing that I don’t like about this book is Holder. Now, now….don’t get me wrong, what I meant here is that the Holder in the beginning of this book. I don’t like the fact he actually…ahem…slept with Les’s best friend, Amy, even when she already have a boyfriend after Les’s death. Whether it’s an accident or not, it’s not something I like about. It’s almost as bad as two-timing. I’m glad that Holder changed the moment he met Sky/Hope again.

P.S. I LOVE THE COVER! I can’t stop staring at it when the cover was actually revealed. I still can’t stop, even now that I’ve actually finished the book.

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

Leave a Reply

