This Girl by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 3 in Slammed

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.


My Point of View :

I giggled, I laughed, I cried and THEN I smiled. It’s amazing how one story can elicit so many different expressions/emotions out of me. The story is just as amazing as the first two books, but out of the three books in this series, this would have to be my absolute favorite.

The story is from Will’s POV. The story alternates between the past and the present. The past is actually the story from the first book. Those who enjoyed the series, would have known that first book is from Layken’s POV, this time we get to read it all again from Will’s POV. “I’m so happy I could die now..!” was my first thought when I finally got to know what’s going on in Will’s mind throughout the whole Book 1 (Slammed). Then there’s the present part – where Will and Layken is finally married and on their honeymoon. In this honeymoon part of the story, Layken asked Will to tell her everything what was on his mind from the beginning to the end. Layken wants to know everything from his POV (*Ahem…so do I…*) and so Will begins his tale~

Getting into Will’s mind is not the only thing I love about this book. I love the part where he talks/explains what actually happened between Julia (Layken’s mom) and him. I get to see the other side of Julia that Layken have not seen. It’s also where I see how much Julia loves Layken.

And I also love how this whole story/series portrays Will as an imperfect and perfect boyfriend at the same time. Imperfect – where there’s this one time he thought he could date another girl (Taylor) to try to forget Layken AND kissed Taylor even though he knows the one he love is Layken. This shows that Will is a guy that everyone can relate to and not just love because in reality there really aren’t a lot of perfect guys. Perfect – where Will shared all his secrets and not hiding them from Layken. It shows how much he loves her. If I could visualize any boyfriend, this would be the one quality I would want with him, which I’m sad to say, not every guy in reality could just tell everything about himself to the one he love. Well, there’s this saying, “Everyone will always have a secret”.

In my previous reviews for the first two books, I’ve always mention a favorite poem of mine from the book. This time I don’t have a favorite. I mean I don’t exactly have a favorite because all the poems (some are repeats from the first book) are just PERFECT! I love all of them – The Lake, This Girl or even the final poem titled, My Final Piece.

Oh…yeah….then there’s this part I can actually relate to and reminds me of myself.

“You aren’t gonna like her. She burps a lot. And she’s bossy. And she never lets me drink coffee, so she probably won’t let you have any either. And she has really bad taste in music and sings way too loud and leaves her bras all over the house. It’s gross….”

This was something that Kels, Layken’s brother said to Will when Kels thought Will is Layken’s boyfriend. I will probably die from embarrassment, if my younger brother told my potential boyfriend about my personal life when he didn’t get to know me first. LOLS!

There is definitely not a dull moment in the story. The epilogue is just perfect and most definitely THE most perfect ending to this amazing series. (*Though I don’t mind if there’s another story. LOLS!*)

Favorite Quote :

Not exactly a quote, but almost a whole paragraph~

“I turn to head outside when the boys make their way back into the house. Kel stops in the doorway and puts his hands on his hips, then looks up at me.
“Are you my sister’s boyfriend?”
I’m thrown off by his directness. I pull my jacket on and shake my head. “Um, no. Just her friend.”
“She told my mom you were taking her on a date. I thought only boyfriends took girls on dates.”
“Well,” I pause. “Sometimes boys take girls on dates to see if they want them to be their girlfriend.”
I notice Caulder standing beside me, taking in the conversation as if he’s just as curious. I wasn’t prepared to have to explain the rules of dating right now.
“So it’s like a test?” Caulder asks. “To see if you want Layken to be your girlfriend?”
I shrug and nod. “Yeah, I guess you could say that.”
Kel laughs. “You aren’t gonna like her. She burps a lot. And she’s bossy. And she never lets me drink coffee, so she probably won’t let you have any, either. And she has really bad taste in music and sings way too loud and leaves her bras all over the house. It’s gross.”
I laugh. “Thanks for the warning. You think it’s too late to back out now?”
Kel shakes his head, missing my sarcasm completely. “No, she’s already dressed so you have to take her now.”
I sigh, pretending to be annoyed. “Well, it’s just a few hours. Hopefully she won’t burp a lot and boss me around and steal my coffee and sing to her really bad music and leave her bra in my car.”
Or hopefully she will.”

 

Leave a Reply

