My Thoughts On “Into The Woods”

When I started this blog, I never thought about posting anything except my personal opinions on books I’ve read and also some mediocre poem I’ve come up with. So, posting (or blogging, I’m not sure since I’m still new at this blogging thing) my personal opinions on movie feels very foreign since I have to put it into words (I’m use to verbalizing them and not writing them). Well, here goes nothing….

“Be careful what you wish for….”

My love for fairy tales and that quote caught my attention……right……actually that’s not really true. It was the AMAZING trailer with the AMAZING casts that made me want to watch the movie.

I was soooo…..excited about watching the different fairy tales blend into one movie. This must seem ridiculous to those who knew about the original musical play, but I really have not heard about the existence of that play till this movie trailer came up. So I was ecstatic!  (*squeals~~~~*)

The movie is okay I guess. If you ask me to rate it out of 5 stars, I would give it 3.5. The music and the cast who sang it was GREAT. I love love love….the prologue- where all the main fairy tale characters chants “I wish….”, and most of all, Meryl Streep’s Stay with Me.

On the other hand, the plot is not as amazing as I thought it would be.
I so love how each of the fairy tale adapted stayed as close as the original; for example, Cinderella’s stepsisters had their toe/heel cut off in order for them to fit into the glass (or rather gold) slipper – this is a part of the original fairy tale that was often left out in movie (be it Disney or other adapted movies). Though I am kind of disappointed that the iconic GLASS slippers are replaced with GOLD slippers, as it’s something….a symbol that represents Cinderella. I guess I’ll just have to wait for the Cinderella movie that is coming soon~

The two prince – Cinderella’s Prince Charming and Rapunzel’s prince, are actually brothers in this movie. A pleasant surprise I must say, one that I love too. I secretly love the idea that my two favorite princesses are going to be related through marriage – sisters-in-law (*squeals~~~*)!!!! AND then, that dream of mine was crushed (and ruined the fairy tale)…..because apparently Prince Charming is a playboy. He kissed another (I won’t say who) woman just after he married Cinderella.

“I’m raised to be Charming….not sincere.” – Prince Charming

What made it worse was that I Google-ed for the original play’s summary……I read that both prince (Prince Charming and Rapunzel’s prince) are both unfaithful – they both went and pursued Snow White and Sleeping Beauty in the woods after they got tired of their respective princesses. My childhood fairy tales….ruined. Now….”I wish…” I hadn’t Google-ed for the original play’s summary.

That was not the only part of the plot I didn’t like, the ending was kind of a let down too. The “Happily Ever After” is not exactly the one that I was expecting, a little….boring after all the spectacular King’s Festival, potion ingredient hunting, wolf stalking Red Riding Hood…etc. There are characters dying in the end and Cinderella not having the normal  “Happily Ever After” (at least Rapunzel got hers). It’s a letdown to me when the movie ends with the Baker recounting all the events to his newborn baby with Cinderella, Red Riding Hood and Jack around him (*sigh*).

Overall, Into the Woods had great casts (Meryl Streep, Chris Pine, Johnny Depp….etc) and music, but I can’t say the same for the plot. I would recommend it to those who love musical plays and fairy tales (that is if you don’t mind the twists/changes).

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts On “Into The Woods”

Leave a Reply

