Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 3 of The Infernal Devices

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Tessa Gray should be happy—aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.


My Point of View :

My first reaction was “OMG!” when I finished the book. The book was and still, will be (*when I reread it some time later in the future*) awesome, spectacular and wonderful! I am really grateful that I can understand Mandarin since Jem speaks Mandarin to Tessa at times, so it’s great that I can understand what was spoken to Tessa without having the translation and I actually noticed one error. It’s too bad I can’t understand Welsh.

When I first read the part where Jem died, I was like “Nah…..he is going to be a Silent Brother~”, so I didn’t feel sad or anything, though I did cry when Jem breaks off with Tessa. My heart broke for them and I realized that I love Jem and Will equally just like Tessa, so I kind of understand (well…a little) what Tessa is feeling. THEN, I thought that would meant Tessa will be with Will and live happily ever after. Little did I know (*or remember the fact*) that Tessa is an immortal….she can’t die. I was like “Damn……..” and also my heart broke AGAIN. I can’t believe she had to witness those she love most die, one by one. At least she have Jem with her as companion, as he is a Silent Brother (thank God they’re immortal). 

Well….that is until 130 years later, Jem found the cure to his illness and finally got turned back into a mortal. Jem then proposed to Tessa~ Oh god…..Tessa is one lucky girl, though that would also mean that she’ll see him dying again. (*face palm*)

Ok….I still have a lot of questions.

IF Jem turns back into a mortal, then the Silent Brother Zachariah is gone right? Then who the heck is brother Zachariah saying “Will….” in the City of Lost Souls????? Did I miss some timeline thingy?

If Jem and Tessa is together, did they have another family together? Like kids? Wouldn’t that be awkward? When Tessa and Will already have kids of their own?

And finally, IS Tessa and Jem going to pop out in the final book of Mortal Instrument series????? That would be kinda cool, that is IF the two questions above is answered……

EDITED : I finally got my answer! I mean, at least the most important one. TMI happens in 2007 while Clockwork Princess ends in 2008. HAH! So no wonder Jem can turn back into a mortal.

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

 

Leave a Reply

