November 9 by Colleen Hoover : Book Review

Storyline Rating: 5/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads:

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.


My Point of View:

Yet another beautiful novel written by Colleen Hoover!! There’s like a novel within a novel. There seem to be a few climaxes, which nearly killed me….too much surprises – especially the one at the end of the novel. Basically, the whole novel revolves around one date and that one day – November 9, the day Fallon and Ben met. The one day they promise to meet each other for the next 5 years, with no communication allowed.

Somehow, they both decide to ONLY meet on November 9 each year. For Fallon, it’s because she believe that one should be 23 years old before they could actually fall in love. Ben, on the other hand, I can’t tell….I know it’s not for the book that he is writing (he wrote it just because he promised Fallon he would), so I’m guessing he just went along with Fallon’s wish. Knowing that the novel is of a romance genre, I was wondering how WILL they fall in love if they just meet for that one day with no phone calls or texting or emails in between. Somehow they did fell in love, in fact instantly (insta-love) and their relationship grew a little each time they meet. The book that Ben wrote…well…is the key to the whole story, so I can’t say much more without telling the ending, which is kind of mind-blowing if you ask me.

I really really love that there are book-nerd terminology in this novel – TBR, alpha-male, etc. I’ve always seen characters who love reading, but there are no use of book-nerd terminologies such as these. Reading this novel totally made my day, and though the novel is great, it’s not my favorite one out of all the Colleen Hoover’s books (it is better than Confess). BUT I’m a loyal fan of Colleen Hoover’s so I’ll read all her books!!! Can’t see what her next book brings (or blow my mind).

P.S. Tate & Miles made an appearance in this book!!!! I knew Ian’s name is familiar! I think my whole family can hear me shouting “Ahah!” when Miles’ name pop up. The character crossovers may be a short one, but it is seriously cool!

Favorite Quote:

It’s not exactly a quote, it’s actually an epigraph for the third November 9th that Ben and Fallon meet up.

She “loved me” in quotations
She kissed me in bold
I TRIED TO KEEP HER in all caps
She left with an ellipsis . . .

– Benton James Kessler, Third November 9th.

 

Leave a Reply

