The Italian Girl by Lucinda Riley : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 3.5/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Rosanna Menici is just eleven years old when she meets Roberto Rossini, the man who will change her life forever. In the years to come, their destinies are bound together by their extraordinary talents as opera singers and by their enduring but obsessive love for each other – a love that will ultimately affect the lives of all those closest to them. For, as Rosanna slowly discovers, their union is haunted by powerful secrets from the past . . .

Rosanna’s journey takes her from humble beginnings in the back streets of Naples to the glittering stages of the world’s most prestigious opera houses. Set against a dazzling backdrop of evocative locations, The Italian Girl unfolds into a poignant and unforgettable tale of love, betrayal and self-discovery. 


 

My Point of View :

I could not give anything beyond 3.5 stars despite the author’s fabulous writing. My ratings/reviews are often clouded by how much I love the plot, especially the ending. So you can already imagine the plot of this novel is not a very good one (at least in my opinion). I don’t think I’ll be summarizing the novel, I think the synopsis pretty much say it all….(or you could read other reviews….I’m just a bit upset over the plot).

I have read the author’s one other work – The Midnight Rose. That amazing novel was what spurred me on buying The Italian Girl, hoping it would be full of emotions, and beautifully written as The Midnight Rose. And as expected, The Italian Girl is indeed full of emotions, and it is as beautifully written as The Midnight Rose – both novels is written in such a way that there are events of past and present events, as well as the lives of the different characters (both novels are told in different characters’ POV) intertwined perfectly.

But in The Italian Girl, Roberto Rossini – one of the major characters in the novel, is introduced to the readers as a Casanova and later a cheater. Yes, that’s a spoiler, but if you decide to read the novel, I think you can predict what happens later in the story (so technically, it’s not a spoiler). I was hoping the entire time that after Roberto married Rosanna, he would change his Casanova ways of lifestyle but lo and behold, he could not keep it in his pants. I didn’t mind that he was a playboy, I mean I have lots of novels where the playboy would change his lifestyle for the one they love (yes, I’m a romantic). So, I absolutely HATE Roberto and what his actions caused.

That is probably the only part I hate the most, as this particular character cause so much pain and angst that I could not handle. It’s just that…I love happy endings. Would I recommend it to others? Well, if you don’t mind a character that CHEATS and have AFFAIRS, then go ahead. It’s not exactly a bad story to read, really…., if Roberto does not exist (which is not remotely possible, seeing that the story revolves around him), I would have love the novel as much as I did The Midnight Rose.

P.S. I’m reading The Seven Sisters (another book by Lucinda Riley) next…(or later after I get over The Italian Girl). I read that it’s inspired by the Pleiades, a star cluster (I LOVE tales inspired by stars!). AND I’m crossing fingers to no cheating characters. (>.<)

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

Leave a Reply

