How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 3.5/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Amber, Evie and Lottie: three girls facing down tough issues with the combined powers of friendship, feminism and cheesy snacks. Both hilarious and heart-rending, this is Amber’s story of how painful – and exhilarating – love can be, following on from Evie’s story in Am I Normal Yet?

All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that.

And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.


My Point of View :

I didn’t know what to expect when I started this book, mainly because I won this from some competition that I didn’t believe I would win (I never do have a lot of luck when it comes to winning competitions). Also, I didn’t read the first book either, so I’m mighty thankful that it wasn’t a continuation of the first book.

The novel is about Amber – who is going to live with her mom in US for next 6 weeks, with the hopes of bonding with her mother and escaping her dad and stepmother in UK. When she finally met her mom in US, she found that her mother is a changed person – and not in a very good way. Initially, I chalked it up to Amber having “mommy issues” but later realize that her mom is just not a very good mom. Amber’s mother was an alcoholic, who seems to blame everyone else for her mistakes and choice (which you will find out much later in the story, if you do read it). Amber’s father isn’t all that great, if you ask me. I know her father take cares of her well enough but ignoring her new wife’s and stepson’s atrocious behavior towards Amber….it’s just a big no to me.

During the 6 weeks Amber’s stay in the US, she is to work in this summer camp run by Amber’s stepfather. This is where she met Kyle, another guide working in the camp during the summer. The interaction between Kyle and Amber is pretty cute, however I can’t seem to feel any chemistry between them – despite them having same interest in the same things. I do like the way Kyle treats Amber, but not the fact he kissed another female guide just because he believes that everybody expects him to, which is one of the issues addressed in this novel : acting the way everyone else expects.

The rest of the novel, well….I can’t revealed everything, can I? But I will say that the rest of the story is where Amber explores her relationship with her mom and also Kyle. It is sort of predictable though (that is if you’ve read enough YA novels).
I’ll recommend it to those who loves cute YA romance, but if you are more of a NA/Adult romance lover like me…well…not very recommended.

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

 

Leave a Reply

