Twisted Bond by Emma Hart : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 4/5 stars

Series : Book 1 in Holly Woods Files

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Photograph cheating spouses. Hand over the evidence. Cash my check.
That was my plan when I returned home to Holly Woods, Texas, and became a private investigator.
Finding the dead body in my dumpster? Yeah… Given the choice, I think I would have opted out of that little discovery, especially since all three of my brothers are cops. And my Italian grandmother is sure the reason I’m single is because of my job.
Of course, my connection to the victim is entirely coincidental. Until I’m hired by her husband to investigate her murder and shoved bang-smack into the path of Detective Drake Nash. My nemesis, a persistent pain in my ass, and one hell of a sexy son of a bitch.
Shame he still holds a grudge from that time I shot him in the foot twelve years ago, or we could have something. In another life.
So now all I have to do is avoid my nonna’s blind dates, try not to blackmail my brothers into giving me confidential police files, and absolutely do not point my gun at Drake Nash. Or kiss him. Or jump his bones.
All while I hunt down the killer.
Sounds totally simple—until a second body proves that sometimes things that start as coincidences don’t always end up that way…

(Twisted Bond is book one of the Holly Woods Files series and while it does not end in a cliffhanger, it is not a standalone.)


My Point of View :

I read this in the midst of my soon-to-due assignments, I was not suppose to read more than the first chapter – I really meant to read one chapter per day. But after that first paragraph….I couldn’t stop reading. Here,

“I always wanted to be a Bond girl.
When I was seven, I proudly declared to my family that I would one day be beneath Sean Connery on a haystack, a la Pussy Galore. My mother laughed, my father choked, my brothers looked at me like I’d gone batshit crazy, and my Nonna yelled that I would only ever be beneath a good Italian boy, preferably a Catholic, and only on my wedding night.”

Now do you see why? This paragraph says so much about the Noelle Bond’s (the heroine) personality. It wasn’t the plot that really made me kept reading – though the mystery is really a plus, it was the heroine’s personality that kept me wanting more. She’s loud, practically unafraid of anything (even bossy, arrogant males), and eat cupcakes like it’s salad. You can’t help but laugh at some of the things she says.

The story goes just as the synopsis indicates, not much that I can add without giving away anything (I do try not to spoil a good story from time to time). The names given to the character and the town – does Holly Woods even exist in Texas? I should Google this. (*laughs*). I do like that there’s no sex right off the bat…uh….I mean in the first few chapters (they had it at the end of the story….such I long wait). Most romance books’ characters had sex like the 5th chapter or so. But I tell you….the sexual tension is definitely not lacking. It is ever present throughout the story. Fuh….it’s just HOT (*fans my face*).

Though….I do wonder if every couple in Holly Wood cheats on each other….because that’s a LOT of infidelity cases that Bond P.I gets. Is there even true love in this story?

 Favorite Quote : None from this book.

 

Leave a Reply

