Until Harry by L.A. Casey : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 3.5/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Coming home is hard for Lane. Hard because Harry, her beloved uncle, has died suddenly, but also because of him. Kale.

Kale Hunt has been her best friend since childhood. But it was never that simple. He was Lane’s reason for leaving home and moving to New York. Seeing him with someone else, in love with someone else, shouldn’t have hurt. But it did. It really, really did. So she upped sticks and left, started a new life and cut herself off from her past.

But now she’s back, and all the feelings are right there. As if she had never left.

Emotions are running high for everyone, and tragedy has a funny way of bringing people together. But is Lane reading the signs right? Are they still just friends, or is there something more?


My Point of View :

It has been a long time since I’ve reviewed any books due to my practicum (despite reading so many books during the course of my practicum). This book though, made me feel so much for Lane – her pain, joy and love for Kale. I would’ve given the book a 4-star if I didn’t hate Lane’s family or Kale so much.

Based on the title, you would have thought Harry is the hero of the story. Well….he’s not. He’s the heroine’s uncle. The story started with Lane rushing back to UK from US to attend her uncle’s funeral. Lane dreaded the moment when she had to meet Kale, her best friend and first and only love, but she also regretted for not being there for her uncle when he passed away and not keeping in touch with the rest of her family. So, after Lane’s uncle’s funeral, Lane starts to contemplate if she wants to return to UK and mend her relationship with her family.

The story alternates between past and present. It started out pretty well, and the need to know what happened in the past that caused the rift between Lane and her family as well as Kale, kept me reading on and on till the end. So, I guess the story is pretty well-written. Only, I didn’t like how the way Lane’s family reacted to Lane’s confession of loving Kale. Her whole family (except her uncle) believed it was just a childish crush. I mean, seriously? Even strangers can see that Lane love Kale (*roll eyes*) – by strangers, I mean me. There is also the fact that her family (except her uncle) weren’t supportive of Lane’s decision to leave UK at all, which goes on for the whole of six years she was gone. Here I thought her family really love her but it seems like her uncle act more like the father than her own father.

Then, there’s Kale. Well…..based on all the flashbacks, he is kind of sweet. I sort loved him in the beginning, but after he “forgotten” about THAT night, my heart broke just like Lane’s did. What he did was unforgivable and when he revealed that he didn’t actually forgot about THAT night at the end of the story, I just gave up on the story. At the end of the story, when Lane and Kale finally got over THE talk, they jump straight into having sex. I get that both have them have pent up sexual tensions, but you just reconciled, shouldn’t you at least go out on a few actual dates before jumping into having sex….? Ugh…..
It was okay as a whole, it was well-written to the point where I cried for Lane whenever her heart broke but whenever I think about the ending or Kale….let’s just say I won’t re-read the story anytime soon.

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

Leave a Reply

