Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs, Andrew Davidson (illustrator) : Book Review

Storyline Rating : 4/5 stars

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.

Wealthy cannibals who dine on the discarded limbs of peculiars. A fork-tongued princess. The origins of the first ymbryne. These are but a few of the truly brilliant stories in Tales of the Peculiar—known to hide information about the peculiar world—first introduced by Ransom Riggs in his Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series.

Riggs now invites you to share his secrets of peculiar history, with a collection of original stories, as collected and annotated by Millard Nullings, ward of Miss Peregrine and scholar of all things peculiar.


My Point of View :

Not sure what I was expecting since I never did plan to buy the book or to read it in the first place. It’s kind of expensive since it’s hardcover and I thought the short stories would be a waste of time since it’s not exactly related to the main story. Boy…..was I wrong!

The short stories were all interesting and peculiar in their own way. None of the short stories’ ending are predictable and it kept me reading without flipping right to the ending to find out the ending. It captures my attention in a way I can finish all the short stories in one sitting without feeling bored or even overwhelmed of the stories (some short stories compiled in a book that I’ve read have somewhat similar themes – which made it boring. While some, I can’t read all in one sitting due to the amount of short stories included in one book).

I am glad that the beautiful cover compelled me to buy the book (*laughs*). It sounds as though the book cover is actually alive and talking to me, but really…..I have always been “judge-the-book-by-the-cover” person. When the book has a beautiful cover, you will probably see me buying it (especially if it’s cheap or on sale). AND it’s a bonus if the book includes artwork (e.g. this book/series, Confess by Colleen Hoover, The Shadowhunter Codex by Cassandra Clare).

My favorite short stories from the book would be “The Splendid Cannibals” and “The Woman Who Befriended Ghosts”. The former because it’s the first story that intrigues me and introduces me to peculiar fairy tales. It’s not the typical kind of fairy tale that is filled with unicorns and rainbows, but it’s the kind of fairy tale that reminds you that everything we do comes with a consequence – which reminds me of the Brothers Grimm fairy tale (somewhat gruesome). While I love the latter because there’s a bit of romance at the end of the story, and I always love a little bit of romance (as well as a good ending).

If you love the main story, you would probably love these short stories. I realize I didn’t include spoilers of the short stories, so I guess you just have to get the book and read it! Absolutely worth your time (if you’ll believe me).

Favorite Quote : None from this book.

Leave a Reply

