Wildfire by Ilona Andrews : Book Review

ay34w8Storyline Rating : 5/5 stars

Series : Book 3 of Hidden Legacy

Brief Summary from Goodreads :

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.


My Point of View :

ERMYYYAGAAADDD….! THAT EPILOGUE! ANOTHER BOOK! I NEED IT……RIGHT NOW! ARGHHHH………WHYYYYY?!?!?!?! Okay….I think I got it out of me, but it will take be awhile to move on to the next book since I will be pondering and wondering what will come next for Nevada and Rogan (and who in the world is the Caesar!).

It’s been a loooong while since I’ve read a book that made me rage for the next, AND I couldn’t resist but finished this one in one sitting. I think the last time I felt this way was when I read Court of Mist & Fury by Sarah J. Maas, but I think that felt worse because I could write only a few sentences for that book as a review. I’ve read other series written by Ilona Andrews. This series and Kate Daniels series are by far the only two series I absolutely love. I guess you could chalk it up to similar hero/heroines and the romance in both series. I just hope this one wouldn’t drag out to um…..10 books? Mainly because I think I will die from the anticipation every single time I finish a book in the series.

So, back to Wildfire. The story begins with Nevada accepting a job from Rynda Charles (daughter of the dead Olivia Charles, refer to Book 2) to locate her missing husband, Brian Sherwood. It’s difficult for Nevada to accept a job from the person who was once her love’s ex-fiancee on top of being the daughter of the person Nevada had a hand in uh…killing (technically it was Rogan who killed Olivia, but you get the picture). Nevada accepted the job anyway. At the same time, Nevada have decided to start House of Baylor to protect her from her grandmother, Victoria Tremaine. She and her sisters and cousins have to go through trials to prove their worth in front of selected witnesses.

Basically, long story short, reading this book feels like a roller-coaster ride. I can’t help but laughed at Nevada’s witty retorts and her banters with Rogan. Then, I can’t help but feel surprised with the plot twists this story presents. Though, I have to admit that the trials part was a tad bit short. I actually thought it would be lengthier and possibly made it into the next book. Or maybe there’s more to setting up a House later on? ARGH….I guess I will never know till the next book.

P.S. I know I have not review the first two books, but I believe this is by far the best book in the series, so I can’t help but reviewed it. It’s the book where Rogan and Nevada’s relationship develops further, various action taking place (as always), and secret abilities revealed everywhere (okay, maybe I exaggerate).

Leave a Reply

